William Deryl Medlin Updated:08/2013

The law firm McMichael, Medlin, D'Anna, Wedgeworth & Lafargue, LLC provides family and business clients throughout North Louisiana with estate and business planning services to ensure the financial security of families and the future of family businesses.

Estate planning can meet a variety of goals, both now and in the future. Louisiana estate planning attorney Deryl Medlin is prepared with the latest information to help you choose the most appropriate tool to meet your goals, such as:

  • Sheltering family assets from taxation
  • Minimizing the impact of estate taxes
  • Funding college education or the special needs of an elder or incapacitated relative
  • Passing along family heirlooms to the people who will most appreciate them
  • Transferring control of a family owned business
  • Asset protection and preservation

Certified Legal Specialties
Taxation, Louisiana State Bar Association, 1985

Bar Admissions
Louisiana, 1978

Louisiana State University Law Center, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Juris Doctorate - May, 1978 
Honors: Managing Editor, Louisiana Law Review
Louisiana Tech University, Ruston, Louisiana, USA B.S.-Accounting (Summa Cum Laude) - February, 1974

Honors and Awards
American College of Trust and Estate Counsel, June 3, 2002 - Present

Pro Bono Activities
Shreveport Bar Foundation-Trustee/Treasurer, June 1, 1998 - Present


REMINDER: This listing is a free service of LouisianaLandCAN.
William Deryl Medlin is not employed by or affiliated with the Louisiana Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact William Deryl Medlin

McMichael, Medlin, D'Anna, Wedgeworth & Lafargue, LLC
400 Texas Street
Suite 1150
Shreveport, LA  71101
Phone: 318-221-1004
Fax: 318-221-0008

Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Bienville Parish, Louisiana
  • Bossier Parish, Louisiana
  • Caddo Parish, Louisiana
  • East Carroll Parish, Louisiana
  • Franklin Parish, Louisiana
  • Lincoln Parish, Louisiana
  • Morehouse Parish, Louisiana
  • Ouachita Parish, Louisiana
  • Red River Parish, Louisiana
  • Richland Parish, Louisiana
  • Tensas Parish, Louisiana
  • Union Parish, Louisiana
  • West Carroll Parish, Louisiana