Fish Passage Program - Southeast Region Updated:04/2022

The Fish Passage Program’s primary focus is to remove barriers to fish passage. Secondarily, the program strives to replace or retrofit barriers to passage and to provide funding for fishway design. Monitoring and evaluation of these activities can also be funded so long as they are part of an overall project that improves passage and they do not represent more than about 30% of the total funding.

Potential fish passage projects should first be discussed with either Tom Sinclair in the Regional Fisheries Office (404-679-7324) or with Tripp Boltin at the Wadmalaw Island Fish and Wildlife Management Assistance Office (843-819-1229). This initial review will help to minimize your project development investment and also work to improve your project’s chances of being funded. Once this informal review is completed, fish passage projects can be submitted to a Fisheries Field Office or the Regional Fisheries Office anytime during a fiscal year. A one-page request form that describes the project and a pre-project photo are all that are initially required. Information from this form and the photo are then loaded into the Fisheries Operational Needs System (FONS) for further consideration.

The National Fish Passage Program (NFPP) is a voluntary, non-regulatory initiative that provides funding and technical assistance to reconnect the aquatic habitat by removing or bypassing barriers.

Contact Fish Passage Program - Southeast Region

REMINDER: This listing is a free service of LouisianaLandCAN.
Fish Passage Program - Southeast Region is not employed by or affiliated with the Louisiana Land Conservation Assistance Network, and the Network does not certify or guarantee their services. The reader must perform their own due diligence and use their own judgment in the selection of any professional.


Contact Fish Passage Program - Southeast Region

7030 Bears Bluff Road
Wadmalaw Island, SC  29487
Phone: 843-819-1229
Fax: 843 559-3002

Service Area

Statewide Program in:
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee